Star Wars Roleplay: Chaos

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

So I'm a moron

Long story short, I broke my own damn computer because I apparently have three left feet. I'm trying to fix it, but this looks to be beyond a 'turn it on, turn it off fix'. Was a thousand dollar computer when I got it, and that's a thousand dollars I do not have to spend right now. So my capacity to post has just been greatly reduced until I can come up with... something.

I've got a phone to check things occassionally, but that's about it.

Evasion Studios
[member="Ayden Cater"] If you need tech support - I'm available tonight. I fixed computers for a living, hit me up on Skype and ask what you will, or tag me here. Might be able to jury rig a situation.

The condensed version is I tripped on my wife's Kindle cable and pulled the tower down. Now I have no video from my graphics card or on-board graphics, there's a knock in the graphics card fan, and when the USB slot got ripped out, there may or may not have been a power surge that damaged the motherboard.

[member="Evad"]
I actually do college IT work myself, hence my glum outlook.

Evasion Studios
[member="Ayden Cater"] Take a flashlight to the motherboard and look for any blown capacitors.

close-up.jpg
If you see any blown capacitors your motherboard is fried beyond repair. If there are not, it may be salvageable.

Also, if you're running Windows OS less than 8 (7 or below), boot in safe mode, as the graphics for onboard are far less needy, and can sustain something akin to old Windows Classic that might buy you some time. It won't be ideal, but you can pick up a graphics card (low end) fairly cheap off of ebay or newegg if you can't spend a grand (which is understandable).